Costume-Crazed

I am a woman obsessed.

It began a little over a month ago as I began planning how to write an ethnography on the concept of beauty here on Clove Island. More specifically, I was planning to write about the fashions. Clove Island female fashion is fascinating. Uncomfortable, but fascinating. Not aesthetically pleasing to the eye (by which I mean my eye), but fascinating. It’s unlike any other place in the world. I opened an Instagram account to share with the world the amazing-ness that is island fashion. Follow me to see a new great fashion example everyday.

One day soon I will write another post describing island fashion as I see it. But for now I’d like to explain my obsession with a trip down memory lane. I LOVE to dress up. Anyone who knows me well, knows this. I wish I had access to the photos of me dressed up as a small black cat “trick or treating” with my dad in his giant mouse costume. Or the photo of me dressed as a pig as part of Noah’s Ark when I was 10. I don’t know the psychological why behind it, but for me there’s not much better than dressing up.

Exhibit A: This is the farthest back I could find, circa 2006. For Halloween I was dressed as Kevin Federline who was dating Brittney Spears at the time.

2006- Brittney Spears and Kevin Federline

2006- Brittney Spears and Kevin Federline

In Peace Corps (2007-2009) we dressed up a lot. Practically every time we gathered as a group we had some themed costume party. Oh, the joy.

2008: Pirates versus Ninja Party

2008: Pirates versus Ninja Party

2008: Hunters versus Prey

2008: Hunters versus Prey

Following Peace Corps, I moved to Atlanta and found more people who loved to dress up! It was fabulous. In fact, I made my first real friends while getting to dress up in the Atlanta Passion Play.

2011: Atlanta Passion Play

2011: Atlanta Passion Play

Through church and work, I quickly built up a network of costume-crazed friendships. (Just kidding- mostly my friends just humor me, except for the girl on the left who may love to dress up more than me- debatable but a definite possibility).

2011: 80's Night!

2011: 80’s Night!

2011: Halloween at Six Flags.

2011: Halloween at Six Flags.

2012: "A" party. I was Amelia Earhart.

2012: “A” party. I was Amelia Earhart.

It was in Atlanta that I learned to love running in races. Don’t get me wrong. I hate running. But to run a race in a costume, well, that makes it all worth it.

2012 Warrior Dash.

2012 Warrior Dash.

2012 Monster Dash

2012 Monster Dash

2013 Warrior Dash

2013 Warrior Dash

And sometimes a friend and I would just dress up for no reason, like the scavenger hunt below. We thought it was a costumed hunt. Turns out, it wasn’t.

I was a raccoon. Get it? It was a "scavenger" hunt.

I was a raccoon. Get it? It was a “scavenger” hunt.

Why did I share all of this? I do like to reminisce about these times and congratulate myself on a costume well-done. Beyond that though, I think it helps explain, a little, why I love the fashion here so much. It is uncomfortable. It is hot. It is painfully modest (painful because of the heat) and often the colors and patterns clash so loudly it hurts my eyes. But it’s like dress-up everyday!!!

What is even going on with this outfit??

What is even going on with this outfit??

I wore the above outfit to a wedding. Isn’t it amazing? And I wasn’t the only one wearing it. There were about 40 of us with the same exact thing on.

IMG_1714Look closely and you will see some goopy stuff on my face. Island women wear this sandalwood mixture as make-up. It softens and protects the skin. It’s a tan to yellowish color contrasting well on black skin. I just look jaundiced with a little leprosy mixed in.IMG_1941For any event I get to wear lots of make-up. I don’t just get to. I have to. If I don’t, it’s noted and I never hear the end of it. Big gaudy earrings are very vogue. And don’t let any hair fly away. Ideally it should be covered but if not, slicked back is the best style. The beautiful curly tendrils framing my face are NOT appreciated.IMG_1557

And for every day apparel, what could be better than throwing a toga over your clothes before walking out the door? Welcome to Clove Island.

Categories: Clove Island | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

