Day Twenty: YOLO

Stress. It’s a killer. But seriously. Every day at work I interview hopeful Peace Corps applicants and I ask them, “How do you deal with stress?” With over 300 interviews under my belt, I’ve had a wide variety of responses from weight lifting to karaoke to meditation. It’s given me a chance to examine my own stress habits.

I know I’m stressed when I have stuff to do, but all I want to do is take a nap. Usually, I take a nap, get up, do the stuff and I feel much better. I know I’m really stressed when I try to take a nap and start back awake suddenly, heart pounding, thoughts racing with all the stuff that I should be doing. But I still refuse to get up and do the stuff. I try to go back to sleep. When I can’t, I find something else to do, like write a blog and have a Star Trek marathon. Hello today!

Why am I stressed? I’m glad you ask:

  1. I have a going away dinner tomorrow evening. I decided to throw myself a going away dinner, which I’ve been told is a little weird. But I have control issues. Now I’m dealing with the repercussions of my decision.  Guests are backing out last minute and I’m stuck paying for their meals. Ouch.
  2. I’m moving in a week. I haven’t even begun to start packing. I’m overwhelmed and I hate packing! Plus I have no where to put my stuff and my mom is pressuring me to get rid of everything but I don’t want to have to buy all this again when I return in 2 ½ years!
  3. I don’t have full funding and I’m 10 days away from the deadline. I am still $508/month short. I’ve given my notice to my current job but I’m still not guaranteed my new one.

I know it isn’t right for me to worry. I know Philippians 4:6, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” I know that many people are praying for me. I know that all things work together for good for those who love God. I know that I should have more faith. I know all this! But right now, knowing all of that isn’t relieving my stress. Neither is napping.

However, Lonely Island’s YOLO does help. In my mind, it is about the most ironic song I could sing to myself. Who doesn’t like some good irony? I hope it brightens your Friday evening as well.

Categories: 30 Day Challenge, Pre-Departure | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

