A Little Bit of Sunshine

Someone told me recently that I needed a more positive blog post. This person said that while each post has come to a positive resolution they are full of trials and tribulations. So I started to think. What could I write about concerning this initial process that is positive? Don’t get me wrong. My daily life is full of joy and blessing. But this blog isn’t about my daily life. At this point it’s about support raising. And support raising is hard. Feelings of rejection and dismissal are almost daily occurrences. Disappointment and hope are intermingled.

 

But then it struck me. Throughout this entire process, standing in the background, ready to jump in and give me an encouraging word, “like” my Facebook post or listen to a rant has been one person: Rachel, my roommate. She has been and is my little bit of sunshine since the moment last February I told her I applying to work overseas.

 

Rachel and I met two years ago after I decided to try out for a play at my new church. I got a part as an angel and a Hebrew woman and Rachel was in my group- we walked across stage together or sat near each other in certain scenes. She was a part of a group of friends all around my age and they welcomed me wholeheartedly into the mix. I had only lived in Atlanta for about 6 months and new friends were exactly what I needed.

 

Rachel and I decided to live together after about two months of being friends. My lease was coming up and she was ready for a change in her living situation. We applied and were accepted to be a Cares Team through Apartment Life. Since July 2011 we have planned and hosted three events every month, visited new residents and residents with an upcoming renewals. Our Cares experiences could fill up an entirely new blog, so I won’t dwell on those.

Mardi Gras Cares event 2012

Mardi Gras Cares event 2012

 

 

Since that day, over a year ago, when I applied for this position Rachel has been my rock. She has listened to my heart; she shares a love for the African people, having completed a short-term mission trip to Ethiopia and Rwanda last year. She commiserated with me when I was required to get six months of counseling and then celebrated with me when I was finally accepted to AltLink.

 

Behind each trial that my previous posts list, she was there helping to sustain me. Rachel drove me to the hospital after my car accident. She took off work the next day to be my chauffeur. Remember all those dots on my calendar? She is the reason I don’t have more. She takes on the shopping, cooking and gift bag creation responsibilities for Cares events and visits. She shoulders so much of the load. And who could forget support raising?

 

Rachel is my first  monthly supporter. This past Sunday at church, I heard a message about giving based on 1 Corinthians 16. The pastor spoke about how grace-based giving is compelled by compassion, not guilt. It is consistent and it is sacrificial. All of these qualities I find in my roommate.

By this point, I know reading this she is blushing and trying to make excuses about why these don’t really apply to her and how she is just doing what she can. One more thing about her, she’s humble.

 

So I thank God every day for bringing Rachel into my life.  Second Corinthians 9:6 says, “Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously.” Rachel has sown generously; she has invested her time, her finances and her heart. I look forward to the day when she will reap ten fold. Thanks for being my little bit of sunshine.girlfriends

Categories: Pre-Departure | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Little Bit of Sunshine

  1. Pingback: Is it Worth It? | my footprints in the sand

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

